Cowley Road, Oxford • 01865 245288 • info@uppcinema.com

The Father Rated 12A

The Father

Dir. Florian Zeller. UK, 2020. 1h 36m. Starring Anthony Hopkins, Olivia Coleman, Rufus Sewell, Mark Gatiss, Imogen Poots, Olivia Williams.

Mischievous and fiercely independent, a man in his eighties decidedly refuses additional help from his daughter. However, when she says that she’s moving to Paris, he struggles to make sense of this impending change and begins to doubt his own mind. An emotionally powerful drama about the effects of dementia starring an extraordinary Oscar-winning performance by Anthony Hopkins.

‘[It] was written specifically with Hopkins in mind, right down to Anthony's birthdate, and the actor offers the perfect blend of vulnerability and recalcitrance in the role.’ ★★★★★ Amber Willkinson, The Times

‘Childlike vulnerability hasn't been something Hopkins has opened up to show us in a long, long while, but he seems ready for this role, hungry to do it, and you may not be prepared for how deep he goes.’ ★★★★ Tim Robey, The Telegraph


Friday 25 June: 16:15
Friday 25 June: 20:45
Saturday 26 June: 18:45
Sunday 27 June: 18:15
Tuesday 29 June: 18:30 (Deaf/HOH Subtitles)
Wednesday 30 June: 16:15
Thursday 1 July: 18:45
Friday 2 July: 18:30
Saturday 3 July: 16:15
Sunday 4 July: 20:30
Tuesday 6 July: 20:45
Wednesday 7 July: 15:30
Thursday 8 July: 12:30 (Baby Club)
Thursday 8 July: 16:15